Learn all about cloth diapers from our How Tos and FAQs page, Diaper Dictionary, product reviews, Diaper Directory and more!

directory   product reviews   sales and announcements   forums   dictionary   how tos and faqs   advertising   contact us

 

GEN-Y Diaper Cover

  Category:  Covers : Covers
Number of ratings:  30
Overall:   4.62

Average Price:  $ 14.94

Share  - Share this product on Facebook.

Those who rated this product also rated the following products:

     Thirsties® Diaper Cover (5)
     Mother-ease Air Flow™ Snap Cover (3)
     GEN-Y Minkee Cover (3)
     Cloth-eez® Prefold Diaper (3)
     Bummis™ Super Brite (3)
 

More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
Ratings Comments
alsw28

Overall: 2
Price: $16.99

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 4 months. Date Posted: 10/21/2010

I had high hopes and got the cutest cover - up all night with the owls. It is very cute, I will give them that, and it is waterproof. But it doesn't fit. Anywhere. My DD is relatively narrow through the waist with kind of chunky thighs and a generous derriere. The cover was very narrow through the waist - too tight even for my skinny waisted daughter, and the whole thing was puffy - like there was too much fabric in the body but not enough five in the waist. Even with the adjustable snaps and different orientations and types of prefolds, neither my DH nor I could get this cover to fit, even though it is by far the cutest of all we own. I have tried six other brands of covers and they all fit better than this one.
So she has used it four times and we have given up - back to the basics.

Purchased at: Banana Peels Diapers

Response from the Seller: Response Date: 10/21/2010

Hey Mama!
I am sorry that you had a tough time getting the fit you wanted! If you would like assistance please send your baby's measurements along with the size cover you purchased and the diapering system you are using it with to Elizabeth@GEN-Ydiapers.com and I would be happy to help you troubleshoot. I hope we can turn your experience into a positive one!
~Elizabeth
GEN-Y - Owner
nasather

Overall: 5
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 10 months. Date Posted: 10/7/2010

I was told by a friend about these covers. As soon as I saw them I knew I had try them. You will not find covers like these anywhere else! But when I tried them, I totally fell in love!! I now have 11 of her covers, haha!
These are a must have!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

nicolehedges

Overall: 5
Price: $10

Condition: Used

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 8/5/2010

I bought one of these Gen-Y covers on FSOT a couple of months ago. I was so thrilled with the quality that I have bought several more in the last couple of weeks. I will buy more sizes in the future also. Not only are the prints super cute, they fit great over the bulky fitteds that we use. We have not had any red marks around the legs nor have we had any leaking. We also have the Gen-Y minky and the Gen-Y Simplicity. I would suggest these to anyone. The customer service has also been excellent!

Purchased at: used

jessieisnice

Overall: 5
Price: $9

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 7/28/2010

I am really impressed with the fit of GEN-Y covers. I love the side snap closures and find that they accommodate my daughters chubby thighs and skinny waist perfectly. They covers are generous in that they fit over all of my WAHM fitteds and also look very trim. I purchased a couple ""seconds"" and am very happy with the price I paid for the quality. Elizabeth picks the cutest fabrics for her covers and I love that she asks for fabric recommendations from fans on Facebook. I get the most compliments on my daughters cloth diapers when she wears a GEN-Y cover. They are the first covers I will chose if I am going somewhere where I want to show off my daughters cloth diapers!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

Melina

Overall: 5
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 7/28/2010

I'll admit I was a little skeptical purchasing a GEN-Y cover because of the side-snaps... but ever since purchasing it, I've been SO happy I did. :) The medium fits both my son and daughter perfectly and they are SO cute!! I can't wait to order a few more :)

Purchased at: Fluff Envy

SewQuiet

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 4/2009. Used this item for 15 months. Date Posted: 7/28/2010

We have been using the same cover for 15 months now. We bought a size small, and because my little one is tiny, he still fits it. The cover has held up remarkably well and is still in excellent condition. We do have the occassional leak, however that usually only happens when he has been wearing the cover for an extended time. For that reason I would not recommend as a nighttime solution, however it would make a great addition to your usual daily rotation.

Add to all of that, the super-cute prints available, something hard to find when it comes to PUL diaper covers, and that makes GEN-Y my favorite cover.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

mongolmom

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 3/2010. Used this item for 4 months. Date Posted: 7/28/2010

We've been using GEN-Y covers daily for about 4 months. I love them!!!! I tried several diaper covers and GEN-Y is definitely the best I have! We love the designs. The fit is just great!! (no leaks - ever!) And the customer service is just superb!! We will be having 2 babies under 2yrs old and both in diapers so I know we will be ordering from GEN-Y again. Excellent service! Great products!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

Jasnochka

Overall: 5
Price: $9

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2010. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 6/22/2010

I just ordered 4 more diaper covers, as they are the best I've ever encountered on the market. The soft rim is gentle enough for our baby's legs and tummy, yet it doesn't leak at all. I also bought 2 wool covers, and used only S until now and it's also very functional and looks great. :) the customer service is really professional, friendly and helpful. there absolutely nothing to complain about!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

2peanuts1pumpkin

Overall: 5
Price: $9

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/2010. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 5/25/2010

I absolutely love these covers!!! I have purchased mostly seconds and a few firsts and they are all great! The fit my rather little guys well, while accomodating fluffy fitteds. I have had issues with some snap covers being too loose around my boys' waists, but these fit perfectly. I have not had a leak yet! The prints are adorable and they have held up well to frequent (about every other day since purchased) washings.

Additionally, I have had wonderful customer service from Elizabeth. One first quality cover that I bought from one of her retailers seemed to me to be labled the wrong size. It seemed way to big to be an extra small and was bigger than the other extra smalls I had purchased. It wouldn't have been a big deal, but I have twins and like to have two of everything :-) I e-mailed Elizabeth directly and she was quite prompt in responding and sent me a replacement cover right away.

So, all in all, excellent and adorable covers, excellent customer service.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

mama2leela

Overall: 5
Price: $9

Condition: New

Purchased in 3/2010. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 4/17/2010

These diaper covers are adorable! I bought one at a discount because of a supposed cosmetic defect--GEN-Y's standards must be super high because I never could find anything that made this diaper less than perfect! It works great, even for a brand-new cloth diapering mamma, and no leaks. Love it!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

AbbysmamaStephy

Overall: 5
Price: $16.99

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2010. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 4/3/2010

I started this cover in use on my 8 pound baby boy, and loved the performance! It fit over any fitted, even the one size ones that are bulkier on smaller settings. He had very skinny legs and a bigger waist and the side snaps accommodated all of his dimensions. A great cover in day to day use, and the perk is the entirely cute print!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

Momof3

Overall: 3
Price: $16.99

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/2010. Used this item for months. Date Posted: 3/3/2010

I think this cover is adorable and really thought it might suit our needs. I was looking for a PUL cover to use in between wool. However, the fit just does not work for us. I have found that no matter what snap settings I try, my 9 month old ends up with a red ring on each leg that encircles her entire upper thigh. I don't imagine that to be very comfortable for her so I've given up.
Also I did not know in advance but would have liked to that this cover will not work with a tri-folded prefold.

Again, very cute cover, seems well made and the fabric feel is very nice. Just didn't work for my child.

Purchased at: Nicki's Diapers

Response from the Seller: Response Date: 3/3/2010

From GEN-Y:

Hello Mama!

I am sorry that your daughter had red marks while using this cover; please do contact me so that I can help you troubleshoot this problem. The cover should not leave red marks when properly fitted. Even on babies with sensitive skin there are lots of things we can do to fix the issue. I am happy to assist you with this; feel free to contact me here at diaper pin or at Elizabeth@GEN-Ydiapers.com. I hope to hear from you!

~Elizabeth
lipstickshells

Overall: 5
Price: $16.5

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2010. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 1/21/2010

I LOVE this cover. This is the only PUL cover I can say that about. I wish I'd found these when I first started cding my son.

The fabric selection is fantastic, the fit is great (LOVE the snaps), and no leaks. I also love the way they feel when I'm holding my son (no plastic like feeling and a good weight fabric). I use these with prefolds.

My son just turned two, and he has preferences for which covers he wants to wear. This is his favorite PUL cover also. These are so worth the price and super cute!

Purchased at: Abby's Lane

Nicole0809

Overall: 5
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2010. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 1/12/2010

I LOVE LOVE LOVE these covers! They are so hip and cute and work great! I haven't had any problems with leaking. I just recently purchased some of the ""defective"" covers (where the print was upside down on one side) and Elizabeth gives you a $2 dollar discount and the product looks just as good as the ""normal"" ones. I have recommend these to friends that are considering cloth diapering. Again, GREAT, cute covers!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

oysterharbor

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2009. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 10/25/2009

Really, really nice covers.

They don't leak, are very adjustable, super durable and *so* cute.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

jmdodd

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2009. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 10/25/2009

I use these diaper covers over pinned/Snappi'd prefolds and fitteds. The size large fits my 3 year old at the largest setting and my chunky-thighed 8 month old at the smallest setting. I love how the snaps give me so many sizing options; being able to adjust the waist and thigh settings separately is a huge plus. The elastic casing does a great job of containing diaper disasters but is still soft after many washings. The covers are well constructed and have held up great under my wash routine with no wicking.

The prints are adorable, and the covers easily squish down under clothing. I use them with onesies and t-shirts during the summer and have gotten many compliments on the designs.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

babybug83

Overall: 2
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2009. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 10/13/2009

I purchased these covers for my now 19 month-old son because of all the great reviews posted here. They are not completely bad covers, but there is one major issue that I have with them: THEY LEAVE RED MARKS - EVEN ON THE LARGEST SNAP SETTING.

And my son is below 50th percentile for height and weight for his age. He only weighs 24 lbs at 19 months old. His legs do not have rolls, they are quite skinny compared to some kids. So the elastic is just too tight, I guess. Also, there isn't soft material around the elastic. That said, the covers have other excellent qualities (but for me the red marks are deal-breakers). For those interested, the PRos are:

1. hold up well in the wash
2. very cute prints
3. side snaps are convenient
4. haven't had a single leak yet (but we use fitteds that fit well and we're past the poop-splosion stage, so they haven't been truly tested)

Maybe I'm overly sensitive about the red marks, but once when my DH put one of these covers he didn't scoot the cover up close enough to my DS's crotch area (so he was wearing the cover like shorts) and the red marks were quite deep. I will be selling these covers and buying something else - with soft leg casings (like the stacinator so simple - it's not that attractive but it definitely doesn't leave red marks).

Purchased at: GEN-Y

Response from the Seller: Response Date: 11/4/2009

Hello Mama!

I am sorry that your son had red marks; please do contact me so that I can help you troubleshoot this problem. The cover should not leave red marks when properly fitted. I am happy to assist you with this issue; feel free to contact me here at diaper pin or at Elizabeth@GEN-Ydiapers.com

I am glad that there were so many positive aspects of the covers that you were able to enjoy :)

~Elizabeth
julie2379

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 9/9. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 10/2/2009

i love these covers. the prints are adorable, they're very well-made, and because of the side snaps, my girls can't strip down during nap time. mine have been washed several times and they're holding up just fine. the only times i've had leaks have been when i've gone too long between diaper changes (my girls are very heavy wetters). we use them over prefolds with a snappi and the fit is great. i'll definitely be buying more.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

chiarore

Overall: 5
Price: $17

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/9. Used this item for 4 months. Date Posted: 9/25/2009

I've been using GEN-Y covers since he was in smalls, and we're now heading toward outgrowing the mediums so I recently ordered a couple larges. These are fantastic covers. They're gorgeous, the prints are fun, and they work really well. We've actually not had a single leak in these (we have had a couple with our pocket dipes). I love that they snap and I don't have to deal with hook and loop closures (which I really don't like very well). Overall, they're fun and beautiful. They're not the cheapest cover, but if you really want something both beautiful and functional, this is the cover to get.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

mykidsrock

Overall: 5
Price: $9

Condition: Used

Purchased in 7/2009. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 9/17/2009

I love the prints! These are the covers I use when I want to show off my little fluffy bum! I like the side snaps, and the adjustability. My daughter has huge chunky legs, and these covers fit her great!

Purchased at: DiaperSwappers- EUC

JennX

Overall: 5
Price: $17.99

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 8/28/2009

Once we hit the ""medium"" cover size mark (which I anticipate we'll be staying at for many months), I wanted to find a cover made with snaps. Velcro starts to wear out no matter how carefully you launder it. The absolutely adorable prints led me to try the Gen-Y cover.

My son has very trim legs but a nice sized belly and we get a great fit with this cover. It does not have gussets (which I generally favor) but the leg fits snugly enough to avoid blowouts. The inside is lined with laminate which makes them easily reuseable with wet diapers, just wipe it out, let dry and use again!! The outside is cotton so if you have a ridiculously wet diaper, it will start to wick from the leg hole, but I have only found that to happen twice when my prefold was sopping wet (and I was a bad Mommy and didn't change soon enough!!)

These covers are very generously sized and fit well over fastened prefolds and fitted diapers. I don't think these would be good for people who trifold due to the side snaps which can leave a small gap. These are a lot like the MotherEase AirFlow covers but soften and in far cuter prints!

My only negative would be the price They are a lot more expensive than the other covers I use, but they use adorable designer fabrics. You won't find a cuter cover out there and they work well. I look forward to adding more as I can afford them.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

beccav

Overall: 4
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2009. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 8/26/2009

I love almost everything about these covers! The fabric is gorgeous, the cover is very well constructed and the snaps are awesome and the fit at the thighs and waist is great due to the 3 snap positions. My only complaint is the overall fit - I'm using trifolded prefolds and prefer a trimmer fit - I find these quite baggy. That said, my little one is toward the low end of the weight range and these may fit better as she grows. I think these would be awesome over fitted diapers!

Purchased at: Ma Fleur de Lait

tupelo123

Overall: 3
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2008. Used this item for 9 months. Date Posted: 8/9/2009

This diaper cover was my favorite. It fit my son well and had the cutest pattern. Unfortunately, moisture began leaking through the cover after about 9 months, rendering it useless. I follow washing instructions exactly for my diapers and covers. I don't think the problem was due to my washing routine as my other covers are working just fine.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

Response from the Seller: Response Date: 8/30/2009

Hey Mama!

I am sorry that you had this issue; please do contact me so that I can give you assistance! I stand behind my products and I would love the opportunity to chat with you and resolve this issue. You can reach me here at diaper pin or at Elizabeth@GEN-Ydiapers.com

I hope to hear from you soon,
~Elizabeth
GEN-Y
Nykoal

Overall: 5
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2009. Used this item for 13 months. Date Posted: 7/23/2009

I LOVE these covers. I've been using them for over a year now. They fit great, are super cute, and very unique. I love the fabric selection. We have Chocolate Lollipop in Small, Medium and Large since I loved the print so much. We also have Fresh Cut, and Kashmir. These are my favourite covers and I love that they have snaps instead of aplix.

Purchased at: Peekaboo Bottoms

sydver

Overall: 5
Price: $16

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2009. Used this item for months. Date Posted: 6/20/2009

I am so glad I ordered one of these covers. After reading all the positive reviews I just had to get my hands on one. Well it came in the mail today and I'm so happy. It's so beautiful, well crafted, and the size is perfect(ordered a large for my 26lbs. 20 mo. old). I love the way there are 3 size ranges for the waist and the legs, we'll get lots of use out of it. Now my LO won't rip it off 'cause no more velcro!

And Elizabeth, I cannot say enough good things about the way she handles her customers! Perfect customer service, fast and sincere. I own my own business as well and know it's hard to be ""personal"" with your clients. But she went above and beyond to answer my questions and help me out. Great lady & great company!

I am looking forward to my next purchase from Gen-y!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

laonion

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 9/2008. Used this item for 5 months. Date Posted: 6/10/2009

I had 2 of these-- the chocolate lollipop and fresh cut -- for my daughter in small. They fit for about 5 months and she was/is a big girl. They are very pretty and I love how thin and comfortable they are. They are the priciest of all the cover I tried so that would be their only downside. If price is not an issue, fabulous covers.

Purchased at: GEN-Y

dbro11

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 4/2009. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 6/9/2009

Not only are these covers beautiful, they do their job better than any other cover! I have yet to have a single leak and find myself reaching for these first! I love how the snaps give you so many options depending on how your baby is shaped. We've been using the XS since birth (6lb10oz) and they still fit perfectly(12lbs8oz)with plenty of room to grow.
I have gotten so many compliments on the Bremen cover..my fave! We've got the 3 Little Pigs for the next size up and I can't wait to use it!
GREAT customer service also!!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

abeautifullovephoto

Overall: 5
Price: $20

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2009. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 6/6/2009

I LOVE these covers! I recently purchased one for my son, a little skeptical because he is a SKINNY MINI but wow, these fit so awesome and adjust for when he gets bigger! They are so amazing and the designs are soooo cute! We have not had one single leak! What a dream! Even all night long! i can't wait to buy more!! :-)

Purchased at: GEN-Y

pawillars

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2009. Used this item for 0 months. Date Posted: 5/23/2009

When I saw these online, I thought they were so cute! I love them even more now that I have them in hand. With summer here, my little one doesn't normally wear pants just the diaper. I was a bit worried about fir as my guy isn't as round as some babies but they fit wonderfully, just snug enoug to keep the messes in. DH really likes them too! I bought the Jolly Roger and Bad Luck covers. I still want to get the one with the Dia de Muerte pattern!

Purchased at: GEN-Y

4butterbeans

Overall:
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2009. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 5/19/2009

This is my 4th cloth diapered baby and I have tried many, many covers. I have never felt compelled, until now, to write a review, even though I rely on these reviews myself.

I absolutely love these covers! I use wool at night but these are what I use during the day. I used to get bummed when I had to cover the adorable diaper prints (Good Mama or Bagshot Row Bamboo) with blah covers, but not anymore!

This style cover is the most functional I have found. They are great for the trim fitted diapers, pinned prefolds and also the bulkier diaper. I am so excited to have them in stylish prints - both the hip & edgy or cute & vintage prints. Such a great product.

Bonus - They look super cute by themselves with a t-shirt or tank in the warmer months!

Purchased at: GEN-Y


Do you sell this product? Add the "Review this Product" button to your site.

More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
dictionary  how tos and faqs  calculator  directory  product reviews  behind the diapers  sales and announcements  forums  home 
privacy  policy-reviews  forum posting policy  advertising  contact diaper pin about us link to us  links  site map 

Shops: Bookstore  Boutique  Online Baby Albums  Mothering Magazine  BuzzShops


Powered by BuzzShops.
Copyright © 2000-2010, Diaper Pin. All Rights Reserved.